skip to Main Content

Collaborative Divorce

AT A GLANCE

The Collaborative Process is also known as “Collaborative Family Law”, “Collaborative Practice” or “Collaborative Divorce”.

What Is It?

The Collaborative Process is a method whereby separating couples, with the support of a professional team, work together to negotiate a Separation Agreement and plan for their family’s future.

Read more

The Collaborative Process provides a safe and supportive environment where you and your ex-partner/spouse work together with your lawyers in a series of joint meetings (“team meetings”) to resolve your legal issues without court intervention.

To help you stay focused, efficient and productive in team meetings, you are assisted by an interdisciplinary professional team. Collaborative professionals are trained to keep separation negotiations on track and focused on what really matters to each of you. You negotiate your separation agreement with real-time legal advice.

The Collaborative Process avoids the adversarial nature of the litigation process by giving control to you instead of a judge.

Why Choose It?

It’s more amicable, less expensive and faster than the adversarial court system. It’s efficient, solution-focused and can be customized to your needs.

Read more

Top reasons to choose the Collaborative Process:

​​It’s Amicable

When you choose to work collaboratively, you choose NOT to be adversarial. You look for ways to divide the pie for everyone’s benefit, and you work to find solutions that help meet everyone’s needs as best as possible.

The relationship with your ex may last forever, especially if you have children. It doesn’t end with signing a Separation Agreement.

The Collaborative Process helps you achieve an effective resolution of the issues arising from your separation and increases long-term satisfaction with your Separation Agreement. This is invaluable, especially when you may need to work together to address issues in the future.

You Have a Support Team

It can be difficult to keep matters moving productively while understanding all the choices available. You want to bring your best self to the negotiations. Support from your multidisciplinary team helps you stay focused and effective in the discussions.

Feel the Power

The Collaborative Process empowers you and your spouse to reach your own solutions in talks that are family-centered and interest-based. You, the client, are in the driver’s seat with the support of your collaborative team.

“The Sticky Table”

Both spouses and their lawyers sign an agreement committing to the Collaborative Process. Although there is always the option of withdrawing and bringing your matter to court to have a judge decide, there are incentives to staying in the process.

Timing and Cost

Family court cases can cost tens of thousands of dollars and take two to five years to make their way through the court system. The Collaborative Process usually leads to resolution in 3 to 4 team meetings (with some exceptions). The process is flexible. It allows couples to move at a comfortable pace and spend their time and money on what is important to them.

A Customized Process and Result

People assume that judges can determine and impose “fair” outcomes. Unfortunately, this is not how our court system works. Judges are limited by legislation and only have authority to make certain orders prescribed by law. Judges cannot do “creative problem-solving” or impose “common sense” solutions.

The Collaborative Process allows you and your spouse to be more creative and customize the process and solutions to suit your needs. People who use the Collaborative Process tend to be more satisfied with the result than people who resort to the court process because they have crafted solutions with reference to what matters to them.

Faster Resolution

Did you know that in most family law cases the separating couple and their lawyers never meet for real-time settlement discussions unless there is a court date (usually scheduled many weeks or months away)?

The Collaborative Process is premised on having real-time, live conversations with your professional team right there with you. You don’t engage in inefficient negotiations and lawyer’s letters or with each “side” reproducing the same work and calculations in their own silos.

In the Collaborative Process, professionals coordinate to avoid duplication of work. They create a safe and productive space to allow real-time negotiation simultaneously with legal advice.

Of course, there are also time and cost savings in the Collaborative Process. You, your spouse, and your collaborative professionals will focus on finding solutions rather than attacking, defending and blaming.

Privacy

Court records in family matters are available to the public. These include your personal financial information as well as intimate details about your children and your private life. By choosing the Collaborative Process and committing to keep your concerns out of court, your private life remains private.

How Does It Work?

These are the basic steps in the Collaborative Process:
1. Build and meet with your team. 2. Set goals. 3. Gather information. 4. Generate options. 5. Evaluate and select best options for your family. 6. Finalize your Separation Agreement.

Read more

Once you have chosen the Collaborative Process, these are the basic steps you will follow. Most of the work will happen in a series of meeting with your spouse and your professional team.

1. Choose Collaborative and Build Your Team!

You and your spouse choose and agree to use the Collaborative Process. This often starts with one or both of you discussing your process options with a collaborative professional – this could be a Collaborative Lawyer, a Collaborative Family Professional or a Collaborative Financial Professional. From there you build the rest of your team. The team members arrange a first meeting where you and your spouse will sign a contract called a “Collaborative Participation Agreement”. Now your Collaborative Process has officially started!

2. Set Goals

Couples who use the Collaborative Process are generally very satisfied as they move into the next phase of their lives. The process works because it begins with determining what really matters to you. The team helps you and your spouse uncover and articulate your underlying goals. While the law is important (and this is why lawyers are involved), most people have concerns that go beyond what the law can address. Where do you want to be in 2 years, or in 10 years? What type of relationship do you want to have with your children and / or with your ex-spouse? What are your career goals or retirement plans? What are your hopes for your family pet? Do you want to continue to live in the same community? These questions might matter deeply to you, but may not be legally “relevant”. In the Collaborative Process there is room to discuss all of these issues. Your individual and common goals will establish the values and benchmarks for planning the next chapter of your family’s journey.

3. Gather Information

You and your spouse need a solid understanding of the family’s financial realities as well as having sound legal advice before you can make decisions. The professional team will support you to put all the relevant information on the table in a transparent manner and to ensure that you and your spouse have everything you need to make informed decisions. The lawyers will explain and educate you about the legal implications for your family. You may also look at household budgets and examine other financial issues like qualifying for a new mortgage or valuing family assets. The professional team keeps the process on track by helping you determine what information you need and how you will get it, so you can move efficiently through the process.

4. Generate Options

Together, with the help of the professional team, you and your spouse brainstorm solutions to address your goals. At this stage in the process, no idea is a “bad” idea – we can be creative and think outside the box. If the legal framework doesn’t provide the best solution for your family, you can safely come up with creative or even unorthodox options. Ultimately, an agreement you both craft together will be one that will endure. The best ideas come from non-judgmental brainstorming allowing you to customize solutions to your family’s needs.

5. Evaluate and Select Best Options for Your Family

With the support of your professional team, you and your spouse will determine which options best address the goals that you each articulated at the outset of the process. Will an option support you in your goal of making a career change? Will an option allow both of you to afford a home in the children’s school area? It is much easier to agree on a solution if you first identify and understand your goals, and are not just trying to “win” or get the bigger piece of the pie. Your professional team will help you weigh the pros and cons and prompt you to think about any legal, financial or interpersonal implications you might not have thought of, to ensure that options you choose are lasting and workable.

6. Finalize Your Separation Agreement

Once you have selected the best options for resolution and have agreed on how to move forward, your lawyers will draft the Separation Agreement. Before you sign, you will have an opportunity to get all your questions answered. Chances are, however, that because you and your lawyer were in the room when the solutions were determined, there won’t be any surprises in the Separation Agreement.

Getting Started

Contact a collaborative professional or register for one of our live webinars to learn more about collaborative divorce.

Read more

The best way to get started is to contact one of the collaborative professionals from our roster. (Some of our professionals also do other work, so be sure to tell them you are calling because you want a Collaborative Process!)

Find a Collaborative Professional

Want to learn more? Register now for one of our live webinars!

Register for an Upcoming Webinar

FREE Webinar!

How to Close your “Marriage Chapter” and Prepare for Better Things to Come

December 1, 7:00 – 8:00 pm EDT

Learn More and Register
Back To Top

skip to Main Content

Divorce collaboratif

EN UN CLIN D’OEIL

Le processus collaboratif est également connu sous le nom de « droit familial collaboratif », « pratique collaborative » ou « divorce collaboratif ».

Qu’est ce que c’est ?

Le processus collaboratif est une méthode par laquelle les couples qui se séparent, avec le soutien d’une équipe professionnelle, travaillent ensemble pour négocier un accord de séparation.

Pour en savoir plus

Le processus collaboratif offre un environnement sécuritaire dans lequel vous et votre conjoint.e travaillez ensemble avec vos avocats lors d’une série de réunions conjointes (« réunions d’équipe ») pour résoudre vos problèmes juridiques sans l’intervention du tribunal.

Pour vous aider à rester concentré, efficace et productif lors des réunions d’équipe, vous êtes accompagné par une équipe professionnelle interdisciplinaire. Les professionnels du droit collaboratif sont formés pour garder les négociations sur la bonne voie et se concentrer sur ce qui compte vraiment pour chacun d’entre vous. Vous négociez votre accord de séparation en bénéficiant de conseils juridiques en temps réel.

Le processus collaboratif évite la nature contradictoire du processus de litige en vous donnant le contrôle au lieu d’un juge.

Pourquoi choisir ce processus?

C’est un processus cordial, moins coûteux et plus rapide que le système judiciaire. Il est efficace, axé sur les solutions et peut être adapté à vos besoins.

Pour en savoir plus

Principales raisons de choisir le processus collaboratif :

​​C’est cordial

Lorsque vous choisissez le processus de divorce collaboratif, vous choisissez d’ÉVITER la discorde. Vous tentez de trouver des solutions qui répondent le mieux possible aux besoins de chacun.

La relation avec votre conjoint.e peut durer éternellement, surtout si vous avez des enfants. Elle ne se termine pas avec la signature d’un accord de séparation.

Le processus collaboratif vous aide à résoudre efficacement les problèmes découlant de votre séparation et augmente la satisfaction à long terme à l’égard de votre accord de séparation. C’est un atout inestimable, surtout lorsque vous devrez peut-être travailler ensemble pour régler des problèmes à l’avenir.

Vous avez une équipe de soutien

Il peut être difficile de faire avancer les choses de manière productive tout en comprenant tous les choix possibles. Vous voulez donner le meilleur de vous-même lors des négociations. Le soutien de votre équipe multidisciplinaire vous aide à rester concentré et efficace dans les discussions.

Ressentez la puissance

Le processus collaboratif vous permet, à vous et à votre conjoint.e, de trouver vos propres solutions dans le cadre de pourparlers axés sur la famille et vos intérêts. C’est vous, le client, qui êtes aux commandes avec le soutien de votre équipe collaborative.

Engagement

Les deux conjoints et leurs avocats signent un accord par lequel ils s’engagent à suivre le processus collaboratif. Bien qu’il y ait toujours la possibilité de se retirer et de porter votre affaire devant un tribunal pour qu’un juge décide, il y a des avantages à rester dans le processus.

Délais et coûts

Les dossiers de droit de la famille peuvent coûter des dizaines de milliers de dollars et prendre de deux à cinq ans pour faire leur chemin dans le système judiciaire. Le processus collaboratif mène généralement à une résolution en 3 ou 4 réunions d’équipe (avec quelques exceptions). Le processus est flexible. Il permet aux couples d’avancer à un rythme qui leur convient et de consacrer leur temps et leur argent à ce qui est important pour eux.

Un processus et un résultat personnalisés

Les gens estiment que les juges peuvent déterminer et imposer des résultats « équitables ». Malheureusement, ce n’est pas ainsi que fonctionne notre système judiciaire. Les juges sont restreints par la loi et n’ont le pouvoir de rendre que certaines ordonnances prescrites par la loi.

Le processus collaboratif vous permet, à vous et à votre conjoint.e, d’être plus créatifs et de personnaliser le processus et les solutions en fonction de vos besoins. Les personnes qui utilisent le processus collaboratif ont tendance à être plus satisfaites du résultat que celles qui ont recours au processus judiciaire, car elles ont élaboré des solutions en fonction de ce qui compte pour elles.

Résolution rapide

Saviez-vous que souvent dans les dossiers de droit de la famille, les parties et leurs avocats se rencontrent rarement face à face pour régler leurs différends à moins qu’il y ait une date d’audience prévue au tribunal (ce qui représente souvent des attentes de plusieurs semaines ou même des mois).

Lors du processus collaboratif, vous bénéficiez de rencontres face à face avec votre équipe. Vous ne vous engagez pas dans des négociations inefficaces et des lettres d’avocat dans lesquelles chaque partie reproduit le même travail et les mêmes calculs.

Lors du processus collaboratif, les professionnels se s’organisent pour éviter la duplication du travail. Ils créent un espace sécuritaire et productif pour permettre une négociation en temps réel tout en permettant les conseils juridiques.

Bien entendu, le processus collaboratif permet également de réaliser des économies de temps et d’argent. Vous, votre conjoint.e et vos professionnels en droit collaboratif, vous vous concentrez à trouver des solutions plutôt qu’attaquer ou blâmer l’autre partie.

Confidentialité

Les dossiers judiciaires en matière familiale sont accessibles au public. Ils comprennent vos informations financières personnelles ainsi que des détails intimes sur vos enfants et votre vie privée. En choisissant le processus collaboratif et en vous engageant à garder vos préoccupations hors des tribunaux, votre vie privée reste privée.

Comment ça fonctionne?

Voici les étapes principales du processus collaboratif :
1. Créez et rencontrez votre équipe. 2. Identifier vos objectifs. 3. Recueillir des informations. 4. Générez des options. 5. Évaluez et choisir les meilleures options pour votre famille. 6. Finalisez votre accord de séparation.

Pour en savoir plus

Une fois que vous avez choisi le processus collaboratif, voici les étapes de base que vous suivrez. La majeure partie du travail se fera lors d’une série de réunions avec votre conjoint.e et votre équipe professionnelle.

1. Choisissez le processus collaboratif et formez votre équipe !

Vous et votre conjoint.e choisissez et acceptez d’utiliser le processus collaboratif. Cela commence souvent par une discussion entre l’un d’entre vous ou les deux sur les options du processus avec un professionnel collaboratif – il peut s’agir d’un avocat collaboratif, d’un professionnel de la famille collaboratif ou d’un professionnel des finances collaboratif. À partir de là, vous constituez le reste de votre équipe. Les membres de l’équipe organisent une première réunion au cours de laquelle vous et votre conjoint.e signerez un contrat appelé « Accord de participation collaboratif ». Votre processus collaboratif est maintenant officiellement lancé !

2. Fixer vos objectifs

Les couples qui utilisent le processus collaboratif sont généralement très satisfaits lorsqu’ils passent à la phase suivante de leur vie. Le processus fonctionne parce qu’il commence par déterminer ce qui compte vraiment pour vous. L’équipe vous aide, vous et votre conjoint.e, à découvrir et à formuler vos objectifs sous-jacents. Bien que la loi soit importante (et c’est pour cette raison que les avocats sont impliqués), la plupart des gens ont des préoccupations qui vont au-delà de ce que la loi peut aborder. Où voulez-vous être dans 2 ans, ou dans 10 ans ? Quel type de relation voulez-vous avoir avec vos enfants et/ou avec votre conjoint.e ? Quels sont vos objectifs de carrière ou vos projets de retraite ? Quels sont vos désirs pour votre animal domestique ? Voulez-vous continuer à vivre dans la même communauté ? Ces questions peuvent être très importantes pour vous, mais ne sont peut-être pas « pertinentes » d’un point de vue juridique. Dans le cadre du processus collaboratif, il est possible de discuter de toutes ces questions. Vos objectifs individuels et communs établiront les valeurs et les points de repère pour la planification de la prochaine étape dans la vie de votre famille.

3. Recueillir des informations

Avant de prendre des décisions, vous et votre conjoint.e devez avoir une bonne compréhension des réalités financières de votre famille et bénéficier de conseils juridiques avisés. L’équipe de professionnels vous aidera à mettre toutes les informations pertinentes sur la table de manière transparente et à faire en sorte que vous et votre conjoint.e disposiez de tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour prendre des décisions éclairées. Les avocats vous expliqueront et vous renseigneront sur les implications juridiques pour votre famille. Vous pourrez également examiner le budget de chaque partie et étudier d’autres questions financières, comme l’admissibilité à un nouveau prêt hypothécaire ou l’évaluation des biens familiaux. L’équipe de professionnels maintient le processus sur la bonne voie en vous aidant à déterminer les informations dont vous avez besoin et comment vous les obtiendrez, afin que vous puissiez avancer efficacement dans le processus.

4. Générer des options

Ensemble, avec l’aide de l’équipe de professionnels, votre conjoint.e et vous réfléchissez pour trouver des solutions afin d’atteindre vos objectifs. À ce stade du processus, aucune idée n’est une « mauvaise » idée – nous pouvons faire preuve de créativité et sortir des sentiers battus. Si le cadre juridique n’offre pas la meilleure solution pour votre famille, vous pouvez sans crainte proposer des options créatives, voire peu orthodoxes. En fin de compte, un accord que vous élaborez ensemble sera un accord qui durera. Les meilleures idées proviennent d’un remue-méninges sans jugement qui vous permet d’adapter les solutions aux besoins de votre famille.

5. Évaluer et sélectionner les meilleures options pour votre famille

Avec le soutien de votre équipe professionnelle, vous et votre conjoint.e déterminerez les options qui répondent le mieux aux objectifs que vous avez chacun formulés au début du processus. Une option vous aidera-t-elle à atteindre votre objectif de changement de carrière ? Une option vous permettra-t-elle à tous les deux de vous offrir une maison dans le secteur de l’école des enfants ? Il est beaucoup plus facile de s’entendre sur une solution si vous identifiez et comprenez d’abord vos objectifs, et si vous n’essayez pas simplement de « gagner » ou d’obtenir la plus grosse part du gâteau. Votre équipe de professionnels vous aidera à peser le pour et le contre et vous incitera à réfléchir à toutes les implications juridiques, financières ou interpersonnelles auxquelles vous n’auriez peut-être pas pensé, afin de garantir que les options que vous choisissez sont durables et réalisables.

6. Finalisation de votre accord de séparation

Une fois que vous avez choisi les meilleures options de résolution et que vous vous êtes mis d’accord sur la façon d’aller de l’avant, vos avocats rédigeront l’accord de séparation. Avant de signer, vous aurez l’occasion d’obtenir des réponses à toutes vos questions. Il y a toutefois de fortes chances que, comme vous et votre avocat étiez dans la pièce lorsque les solutions ont été déterminées, l’accord de séparation ne contienne aucune surprise.

Pour commencer:

Contactez un professionnel de la collaboration ou inscrivez-vous à l’un de nos webinaires en direct pour en savoir plus sur le divorce collaboratif.

Pour en savoir plus

La meilleure façon de commencer est de contacter l’un des professionnels collaboratif figurant dans notre liste. (Certains de nos professionnels font également d’autre genre de travail, alors assurez-vous de leur dire que vous appelez parce que vous voulez un processus collaboratif).

Trouver un professionnel de la collaboration

Vous voulez en savoir plus ? Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant à l’un de nos webinaires en direct !

Inscrivez-vous à un prochain webinaire

FREE Webinar!

How to Close your « Marriage Chapter » and Prepare for Better Things to Come

December 1, 7:00 – 8:00 pm EDT

Learn More and Register
Back To Top